Food- allergy & intolerance; AMINES

A food allergy is an adverse immune response to a food protein. They are distinct from other adverse responses to food, such as food intolerance, pharmacological reactions, and toxin-mediated reactions. Food intolerance or non-allergic food hypersensitivity is a term used widely for varied physiological responses associated with a particular food, or compound found in a range of foods. Food intolerance is negative reaction, often delayed, to a food, beverage, food additive, or compound found in foods that produces symptoms in one or more body organs and systems, but it is not a true food allergy.

For someone who loves food, I should consider myself blessed for not having any food- allergies or intolerances. I basically eat whatever I feel like. Whenever too. This is something I (and perhaps you too?) take for granted I guess..

Recently I had a little girl visiting me who get’s really sick after consuming (cowmilk-) dairy products. Sure I love goatcheese and can put that on my pasta instead of cow-milk-cheese, but the girl is not even aloud to eat “normal” icecream. I had a craving for icecream that day so bought the one kind that she is alloud to eat; soy icecream. She loved it and I disliked the taste so much I didn’t finish mine.  I even tried to make an ice-coffee out of it, it didn’t help. The soy-flavour was stronger than the coffee and I really didn’t like it.

Do you ever realise that there are people that need to really think before they put anything in their mouth?
“Can I eat this?” “What will it do to me?” “How will my body react?” Kind of unbelievable right?

While checking some recipes on WordPress, I came across a woman who (seems to be a great cook! & ) has an amine- allergy or intolerance. Do you know what that is? Or what amines are? Well I had to look it up too; amines are organic compounds and functional groups that contain  a basic nitrogen atom with a lone pair. Well that’s Wikipedia’s explanation, I still don’t understand. (Here’s the full Wikipedia article.)  Michelle, can you give us a hand? Explain us really simply what amines are, please?

Michelle Ferris states on her blog/website (see here; http://aminerecipes.com/ ); “I’m here to prove to myself and to you that eating low amine foods can be delicious.” And she is! If you have any amine-problems, please read her info, check her recipes & start cooking! I can eat whatever I want but I’m looking forward to try some of her recipes, the combination of the flavours and ingredients she uses just water my mouth. Here’s my favourite recipe on her site; Jalapeno mint jelly with lime basil chicken, jumm….

Some more info about food allergy & food intolerance;
http://www.allergyclinic.co.uk/foodallergy.htm
http://www.enzymestuff.com/conditionsensitivities.htm
Thx again Wikipedia & Michelle Ferris. Good luck with your site!!

Food- allergy/intolerance

Food- allergy/intolerance

9 Responses to “Food- allergy & intolerance; AMINES”

  1. Well, to attempt an explanation…

    Amines are something that are in all foods. As foods get older, the amines grow (for instance, a banana that is one day older than another banana is higher in amines). It is a chemical that increases in foods as the food decays. What’s weird is that even for foods that are preserved (so you’d think they’re not “decaying,” right?) are extremely high in amines. Freezing, drying, canning, pickling and fermenting do nothing to stop the growth of amines.

    This means that pickles, and any other preserved foods, including ingredients like vinegar, beer, or even “shelf stable” mayonnaise are totally out. They’re basically giant amine bombs to someone that’s allergic.

    In addition to this, there is a huge number of foods that are naturally high in amines (here’s a spreadsheet detailing high amine and low amine foods: http://bit.ly/n68koz), such as tomato, mushroom, kale, oranges, and more.

    Amines come in many forms… In my research, it seems that people that are allergic to one amine are often sensitive or allergic to another. These are histamines, tyramine, biogenic amines (my allergy), salicylic acid, glutamates (such as MSG), and many food additives, preservatives, and food dyes. It’s a difficult allergy to have, and I wouldn’t wish it on anyone, but finding out what was destroying my joints and leaving me debilitated (though the range of symptoms covers everything: joints, skin, breathing, mood/behavioral, stomach/intestinal problems, and more) was the best thing that could have happened to me.

    Getting my life back has been a blessing. I’m just so thankful I know how to cook! Whether you have or suspect an amine problem or not, I have recipes on my blog that anyone can appreciate. Live and love abundanty, share, and eat well! Enjoy!

    – Michelle Ferris
    Low Amine Recipes
    http://aminerecipes.com

  2. aww i’m partially lactose intolerant as well – i can’t have anything with milk in it! so i’m relatively lucky. thanks for the info!!

  3. I’m still learning from you, as I’m improving myself. I absolutely enjoy reading everything that is posted on your website.Keep the stories coming. I loved it!

  4. I’ve never heard of amines before, but looking at the spreadsheet Michelle linked, it seems like a challenge for cooking. But you know, challenges are good. I don’t eat gluten, corn and soy. Before I started this change in my diet, I didn’t cook at all. And now, I have sooo much fun in the kitchen coming up with recipes I can eat. And actually… her pear fennel ginger soup looks delicious, I look forward to trying it!

  5. Nice post. I have a life threatening soy allergy, and am also allergic to gluten (wheat, barley, rye) yeast, and pomegranates. But I’ve never heard of amines…very interesting stuff! I’ll definitely be checking out Michelle’s site, I’m eager to learn more. =)

  6. Thanks for stopping by my blog http://www.whenwomantravels.com! I have glutten intolerance and all you write is very interesting and useful. Thanks again!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

