“Like the locals do” ?

I’d love to travel the world exploring local kitchens, taste the local flavours, learn about ingredients, experience food like the locals do.

Which dish from your country and/ or region should I definitely include?

HR stew

Croatian stew

17 Comments to ““Like the locals do” ?”

  1. I love sweets and from my country, Italia, you have to include: Babà ( the one without too much liquor or cream) and Strufoli both from Naples and, from my region: Tuscany, Rotolo Dolce with cream and Nutella ( see my blog CRAZYaboutTUSCANY.wordpress.com, you’ll find some photos) … they are delicious !!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Is that a Croatian meat stew from the interior, or a Dalmatian brudet from fish? Also, any dish made “ispod peka” – under the bell – is divine and very typical.

  3. Where to start? A ploughmans lunch is a great summertime feast bit it has to have some home made pork pie. Pies are definitely my favourite though and what better way to represent the British Isles with a Cornish pasty.

  4. I grew up in Northern Michigan. It’s called the U.P. (acronym for the Upper Pennisula) so we were called “Yoopers.” There were lots of folks who came from Cornwall to mine copper and iron. They brought their pasties with them and the later groups of Finns, Italians, and Poles embraced the concept of such a handy way to have lunch. As a kid, I thought they were Finnish!

    Did you know that the twisted part of the crust which seals them was used as a handle to hold the pasty while eating it? There was minimal access to water for washing hands down in the mines. After consuming the pasty miners would throw the dirty crust away.

  5. I’m from the Southern United States and there’s so much…. but I think New Orleans cuisine would have to be the winner: fried oyster po’boys, gumbo, jambalaya, alligator poppers; and also “soul food,” for example fried catfish with collard greens, fried okra and black-eyed peas, with sweet iced tea to drink and banana pudding for dessert^^

    (and here in Korea where I live, good kimchi jjigae or pajeon with makkoli!)

    • Hmm got a friend, a good cook, from “your” region. As a kid I already dreamt of trying a jambalaya, it was perfectly described in one of Virginia Andrews’ books I was reading back then and when my friend made it for me for the first time I loved it as much as I thought i would. Okra is my favourite vegetable (or at least has always been untill I tried wakame for the first time, just had some for lunch again.. https://dlcsmanagement.wordpress.com/2011/11/03/wakame/ )

      re. your Korean dishes (WOW!) My grandmom used to make a Chinese version of Kimchi when i was little… never ate it again, I never knew what it exactly was (Thank you Wikipedia), I thought it were some kind of mushrooms. And the pajeon with makkoli (Thank you Google) Hmmm Ofcourse I’d love that!

  6. Your question really made me think… India is such a diverse nation, with so many hundreds of communities and each kitchen having its own specialities, that I wonder… But from your posts it seems you like spicy food. A very spicy rice preparation from the Iyengar community of south India is called ‘puli ohare’ or tamarind rice. Puliohare is popular in many Indian communities and each has its variation. It is even available off the shelf, ready to mix and eat. But the Iyengar community’s puliohare is outstanding and really unique. If you like vegetarian food, and rice preparations, I welcome you to try the Iyengar puliohare.

    Thank you for visiting my blog, which is how I got to know about your fascinating blog that combines so many inter-related topics with such ease, and you write with such passion on all the subjects!

  7. Thank you so much, kshama, for your reply! Yes I adore spicy food. I think the Indian restaurants in The Netherlands are generally not very authentic. Never went to india yet, so I’m just guessing, but many of the foods/restaurants here are “Europeanised”, dull-flavoured, because that’s what many of the customers desire. I have had a vegetarian Indian woman cooking for me a few times, and anything she prepared was amazing and so varied. No idea from which region she was though. Hmmm looking forward to REALLY trying “your” food!

  8. I’m from St. Louis, US and we have some pretty good local dishes. Toasted Ravioli (which I like more than regular ones) is amazing if you dip it into sauces– my favorite is either spaghetti sauce or barbeque sauce. A lot of people like “St. Louis style pizza” which is super thin crust. But best desert food is from a local ice cream shop called Ted Drewes and it’s a custard. The place is always packed– even in the winter when most other outdoor ice cream places shut down.

  9. this is a tough question. I’m a huge foodie, but the first thing that comes to my mind from Croatian food is PASTICADA and SARMA/ARAMBASICI. maybe cause I would enjoy eating both of these dishes very much now! :)

    and of course, hobotnica….I see this one had already been mentioned. :)

    • Hmmm well hobotnica (octopus/pulpo) would be a luxury dish here in The netherlands, but during my youth in Croatia they were “poormansfood” ’cause you could just catch them with a hand in the sea… I doubt Dutch students cook hobotnica for themselves..

Leave a Reply

