Balkan style nasi goreng

You already know I love spicy & exotic food. And the Balkans. And good food, thus Balkan food. In my household I mix it all. For some people it’s too exotic, but today I’m eating alone. Cooked some rice a day ago, usually cook extra on purpose. Fried rice or nasi goreng from leftover rice was the first dish I ever learnt to cook. Great with whatever is available, and even if you have nothing in the house; there’s an onion & some soy sauce right?

Todays’ ingredients:

  • cooked brown rice,
  • Indonesian rawit; veryVERY spicy pepper,
  • Montenegran sausage
  • Croatian spring onion
  • some Dutch cherry tomatoes
  • Ketjap manis, Indonesian sweet soy sauce.

20120418-181449.jpg

20120418-181609.jpg

7 Responses to “Balkan style nasi goreng”

  1. Looks like you are inspired by your last trip :-) But it does look delicious!

  2. Yum! Same for me as I always like some rice for the next day to do a stir fry. Montenegro sausage sounds spicy and exotic, is this from your recent holiday soirée :)

    • The Montenegran sausages are indeed a bit spicy! They have a very present paprika (pepper) taste to them too! In Croatia they only use so much spices in the East, bordering Hungary. The flavours of these sausages are completely new to me and totally go very much together with the fried rice. As you can see on the pictures, I chopped up way too much sausage for the amount of rice (didn’t use all the rice you see, probably today similar dinner), I ended up taking the meat out, it was too filling for me.. And yes I took the onion & sausage with me from my trip, in fact, I even took out some clothes at the airport and gave them to my driver to deliver them to me by car, so I could take all the food I was planning to take….

  3. looks delicious. I also love spicy food

  4. I’m extremely inspired along with your writing abilities and also with the layout on your weblog. Is that this a paid subject or did you modify it your self? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s uncommon to peer a nice weblog like this one these days..

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

