Dutch lunch

You know I don’t daily enjoy a typical Dutch lunch, but sometimes I’m a typical Dutchie. Today I went to eat out because its still too cold at the new office, so I was craving for a hot cup of soup. Untill I smelled the kroketten and thought… Why not…

20121121-130804.jpg

8 Comments to “Dutch lunch”

  1. … that does not look very healthy and/or delicious hehe

    • Haha I find it delicious, if not consumed too often. I don’t feel Dutch, but I grew up in Dutch-land so I enjoy all those Dutch foods that couldn’t be called cuisine to some (including myself)..

      But look what Wikipedia says:

      A croquette is a small breadcrumbed fried food roll containing, usually as main ingredients, mashed potatoes and/or ground meat (veal, beef, chicken, or turkey), shellfish, fish, cheese, vegetables and mixed with béchamel or brown sauce, and soaked white bread, egg, onion, spices and herbs, wine, milk, beer or any of the combination thereof, sometimes with a filling, e.g. sauteed onions or mushrooms, boiled eggs (Scotch eggs). The croquette is usually shaped into a cylinder, disk or oval shape and then deep-fried. The croquette (from the French croquer, “to crunch”) gained worldwide popularity, both as a delicacy and as a fast food.
      ……
      The ragout-filled dish was regarded as a French cuisine delicacy, first described in a recipe from 1691 by the chef of the French king Louis XIV and utilising ingredients such as truffles, sweetbread and cream cheese. From the 1800s onwards, it became a way to use up leftover stewed meat.

    • You’re right, I don’t think anything deep fried is healthy ;)

  2. I think it will be a while before a restauranteur serving traditional Dutch cuisine wins a Michelin hat. A nieuwe haring (herring) would need to be on the menu list, followed by krokette…then, um…? Hutspot maybe?

Leave a Reply

